Need Help.

Bigc6466

Hmmmm. Still wish I could see more. This pic is only 62 Kb. The size limit is supposed to be somewhere around 450 kb.

Well, okay, let's see. The green one looks like it could be a modern machine-made. (Maybe made in the last 20 years in Mexico.)

The middle one could possibly be a a modern one which was made by hand -- if it is glass.

For the brownish one on the right I think I see some circular motion which is interesting, but I can't see enough to make a guess. Maybe more views might help. (Also, I better double check to see if this one is glass, as opposed to stone.)

It looks like you might have inherited a contemporary collection. "Contemporary" is a name given to art glass marbles made in the last 40 or so years. (I think I have that number roughly right but maybe someone else will correct me.)

I'm not an expert. The name which comes to mind for me with this one is a Snakeskin made by someone name Gibson. Hopefully someone else will come in and confirm or correct.

post-279-0-59609500-1424660520_thumb.jpgpost-279-0-02234100-1424660522_thumb.jpgpost-279-0-30312800-1424660523_thumb.jpg

So those are my guesses for this initial group.

If you have the other marbles in a central location, maybe you could take a picture of the whole group and we could get an idea of whether it's all newer or a mix of old and new. :thup:

p.s., I'm going to move this thread to the main chat area so that more people familiar with contemps might see it ...

I uploaded more of Bigc's pics into an album in the gallery. I'm still a bit punchy from a couple of busy days so I'm just gonna post the album for now and hopefully others will browse it and maybe add some helpful comments.

There's a mixture of old and new, with many common, and maybe some not quite so common.