A couple that need IDs...

sprchik

I don't even know if these are vintage or modern. They were so pretty I wanted them regardless. 

But I would like to know what they are, if that's possible. :) Let me know if my photos aren't helpful for ID purposes, please, and what I could change that would make them helpful. Any feedback is appreciated ^_^ I'm new at this!

Thanks for looking! 

19/32" ~

large.20171215_033629.jpg.626a906d01083b

5/8" ~

large.20171215_171512.jpg.331ffd1c40dd3b

There is a weird brownish inclusion... a little speck, there in the purple one, can see it in a couple of the shots. 

Thanks lostmymibs & Steph! 😄

You know, I wondered if the purple one would be considered a slag or not! I've looked at tons of pictures, and thought it could be, but I guess I don't quite grasp why a slag is a slag? If that makes sense. So I don't feel confident calling one out!

Is it accurate to call the transparent amber swirl a flame? Is there a certain number of flamey tips required to make a swirl a flame? I thought I recalled reading somewhere that... what makes a flame is 4 flame tips in any one view -- but that may just have been an opinion, and not a true definition! 

One more question... how the heck did the term "mib" come about?! And does it only apply to certain sizes? Like, would you call a 1" marble a mib? No... that would be a shooter, right? LOL there's so much slang to learn! 🤣

But yeah, I am having a blast so far! 😄

"Mib" is supposedly Latin for marble.  

Safe to call 'em mibs even at 1".  :) 

I try to make a habit of calling the 1"-er a boulder.  I recognize it when someone else calls it a shooter though.  The reason I try not to to call it a shooter is because in tournament play, the max size allowed on the shooter is 3/4".   But sometimes I go with the flow and call the bigger ones shooters.