Modern Handmade Leather Marble Bags

skoronesa

I have been hobbying with leather for about 10 years now. I don't make too much, don't really have the time or the money for a sewing machine that would make it go so much faster. I have made 4 bags in the last month, quite a record for me. I had made a bunch of AA maglite belt holsters, about 10 which I gave away. 2 of the recent bags were for 2 of my sons. 1 was a rather large experiment that turned out nicely, and the other I fancy as perfect for holding a dreidel I made it out of boredom with no real intention.

I will try to get pics of all of them, past and present.

My "dreidel" bag. So called because as I finished it inside out I realized it would fit one perfectly. Apparently bison leather is kosher, but it is currently holding my mini binder clips which are invaluable when sewing leather and needed a place to stay.

post-3611-0-50307800-1454220886_thumb.jp

post-3611-0-00869400-1454220899_thumb.jp

post-3611-0-23828100-1454220911_thumb.jp

The fourth is I don't have pics of yet and my 2nd sleeps with it next to him so I will have to take pictures tomorrow. I will also try to take pics of some of the other bags I have made. I might do a build/how to thread but that probably won't be for a while. It's really quite simple, more repititous than anything. I have found bison leather is a good bit cheaper than cow, is usually thicker, and is quite soft. Once you have the right tools and develop a process you can go rather quickly even though it's hand work.

The toughest to make bag was from a rabbit fur. With the fur on one side getting the hole positions correct was a pain, and it being so soft it was almost impossible to keep the edges prolerly aligned. Also rabbit hyde is kind of fragile and can tear easily. But the inch long fur made great padding for some special marbles.