Howdy Y'all

Fuzzy Chubbs

Hello marble aficionados and experts!

I'm a newbie to the marble world, at the spry age of 27.  In early 2020 I took to YouTube to fill my new-found free time while staying home and isolating, stumbling upon Corning Museum's account per the suggestion of an engineer friend who produces art glass.  I quickly became infatuated with the masters Mark Mathews and Bill Gudenrath.  Over the past year and a half I have just barely dipped my toes into the world of marbles, picking up a handful of modern contemporaries from eBay; but nothing special.  I fortunately live within an hour of a marble mecca, Moon Marble Company, but unfortunately they have been closed the past year so I have yet to visit :/

This past week I stumbled upon a collection of marbles that were sourced by my great grandfather while he lived here in Kansas.  I decided that it would be a fun project to sort and identify as many of the marbles as I can, with the grand goal of creating a display to present to grandma.  It's a rather small collection just filling a vase, but from my first glances and rudimentary marble knowledge I believe there to be quite a few of interest.  It seems to me that may are masters, alleys, vitros, and probably a variety of others that I have yet to wrap my head around.

I plan to post these in a trickle rather than one large ID dump, as it both takes longer to sort/photograph than I initially thought and I also like the idea of bolstering my knowledge as I progress through the ID phase.  I'm hoping that eventually I'm posting these marbles with correct identification before expert input!  S/O to Steph and her study hall, I imagine it's going to be a big crutch for me!!