Help With Pic's Please

Any help on taking pic's of marbles would be appreciated. I've been collecting for a few years now but I'm still pretty new to this site. I've recently been trying to get some good pic's of my marbles but it's not going so well. I see what good pic's everyone has and I'd love to be able to take some anywhere near that good. I'm working with a 12.1 mega pixel sony cyber shot but I have a couple of other digital cameras with less pixels. I do have a scanner but haven't tried that yet. What should I do to get the best or better picture results?

Thanks.

I am in no way as good as some on here, but I like to use sunlight with a dark background, it really makes the colors come out (with a white background, the camera tends to over-compensate for the lightness and dulls the overall lighting of the entire photo)

I usually just set the marbles on a dark colored non-reflective cloth.

Use the Macro setting on your camera (usually indicated by a flower symbol). If you have a tripod to use, use the timer button too, that really helps me.

Hope that helps some :)

More megapixels isn't necessarily a good thing.

Use manual focus, if you have it. Use spot metering, if you have it. Use your custom white balance, if you have it, and manual aperture and shutter settings. Underexposure is better than overexposure. As said above, use a tripod and timer, and super macro setting, and a low ISO, like 80 or 100. Use a larger resolution (at least 2000 pixel width), then crop your photos in a graphics program. Outdoor pictures will usually have alot of unwanted reflections. If shooting indoors, don't have the light source(s) too close to the subject.