Buried treasure! Completely new so would appreciate any information,

ManofKent

Dug out of the garden by my wife...

I'm completely new to this so any information is gratefully appreciated.

The house (England) dates from the 1890's and there haven't been any children living in the property for at least 25yrs so I've narrowed it's age down a little! 

The marble is about 20mm (sorry no calipers). Very dark grey glass - almost black and barely translucent when held next to a strong light. The coloured flecks are very unevenly distributed but don't appear to be purely on the surface. 

marble1.jpg

No seams. Is this a pontil or just a chip? It seems a slightly odd shape for just impact damage, but any help on telling the difference is appreciated.:

marble2.jpg

Any information appreciated!

That would be a chip.  Below is a link to a thread with some pictures of pontils.  To the best of my knowledge, your marble is "modern", that is, made after 1970. It's machine-made.  There are some older marbles with embedded frit.  However, most will be modern, made in Mexico or China.  With some new varieties made in special runs in smallish quanties by Jabo and Dave McCullough within the last ten years. 

4 hours ago, Steph said:

That would be a chip.  Below is a link to a thread with some pictures of pontils.  To the best of my knowledge, your marble is "modern", that is, made after 1970. It's machine-made.  There are some older marbles with embedded frit.  However, most will be modern, made in Mexico or China.  With some new varieties made in special runs in smallish quanties by Jabo and Dave McCullough within the last ten years.