Is There A Name For This Design?

Remodelling a house that was built during the 1850's in Missouri, I found quite a few marbles scattered around in an area that there was no possible access to since the house was built. There were also a few coins dated in the 1840's and 1850's, all from Prussia (Germany). The numerous interesting marbles may have created a couple of new marble collectors out of my girlfriend and myself.

So, I'm completely new to all this, and would like to put a name and if possible, an age and manufacturer to some of these marbles. Here is the one I am most interested in at the moment, it is about 1 1/4" diameter. Thanks for any help, and any suggestions to someone new to the world of marbles. Setting a dollar value is not an issue to us unless we should consider getting insurance for them or could they could lead to early retirement :)

post-2602-127016261765_thumb.jpg

I believe these are intersecting parallel lines rather than a helix line which would be a continuous line. And they date to the 1846-1870 period. For its type it is common(according to Carskadden and Gartley) although that is exceedingly relative. Nice large example nonetheless and as good a jumping off point for collecting marbles as anything else. David

WOW!! How NICE!!!! Yeah, I guess that could be considered a fairly common design... But, even at that, not a common marble by any means and that size is fabulous!!!

As far as a name is concerned, "Glazed" should be added to what has been said. It has a finished, glazed surface, rather than the more common "unglazed" chinas...

I'd be walking a little above the ground after finding that in my house!!

Congratulations!!! BIG TIME!!!! :D

OK..... Let's see some more!!! :cool-smileys-262: