5/8 And 7/8 Golden Rebel Question

Hello Everyone,

Go this 7/8" golden rebel in the mail today, I have it next to a 5/8 one for comparison. I bought it knowing it was a little beat up, and when I got it today, it was actually better than expected. There is a nice size blow out, and a few shallow chips, and general defects (around 7.5)

So my questions are:

1. How rare is this size? I dont recall too many this size that I have seen, have seen a few 3/4" inch ones though.

2. Should I get it polished, knowing what it will do to the size, but it will better the condition? Or keep it that size for historical sake?

It is a conundrum wrapped in a riddle within a quandary.

Thanks,

Craig

post-2120-129919146347_thumb.jpg

post-2120-129919147476_thumb.jpg

That’s the never ending question. To polish or not? I am no expert on the subject but it looks to me that your marble needs more than just polish. I think a lot of glass will be removed to get to a smooth surface and that will not only reduce the size but also remove some of the color and pattern. It is a rare size but for me I would be more concerned about the color you may grind away.

The right photo in your first post shows what happens if you remove too much glass, the black will be gone. I had one sent to Leroy for polishing and he stated that I would lose more than gained, so we just buffed it to shine. I then sent it to a very good friend of mine. I would leave both of yours alone.