Where To Start Re: Marbles

Eric70

\ Hello,

I am new in trying to collect/identify marbles. I have alot ( although probably not alot to you guys) of different marbles that I have accumulated. I have some that were handed down, some that were purchased from yard sales, some that were found while dump digging bottles and cans, and some that were found in attics. I Don't know the first thing about marbles and how to identify or value them. What would a beginner such as myself first need to get as a resource? It seems, in trying to do some research, that a person who is trying to collect/identify marbles needs to be around people who have the hands-on experience and knowledge about such things. I am in a really rural area and I would doubt that there are any marble collectors in my area. So what would any of you have to offer in this case? Thanks for the help

Eric

Maybe you could put a little ad in your local paper saying you're interested in meeting someone who collects marbles. The best way to learn is to get with someone who's collected for quite a few years. Get books, go to shows......just don't spend a lot until you know what you're doing.

First try to sort your marbles by type and pattern. Don't sort by color. You should end up with the following major categories

1. Non glass marbles - Lots of subtypes but just group them all together for now.

2. Hand made marbles - These will all have one or more usually two pontil marks. Pontils are like pimples on opposite ends of the marbles. Once you see one or two they are not hard to identify.

3. Game marbles - all marbles with just one solid color, clear or opaque, are not collectable (rare exceptions).3

4. Catseyes - Clear marbles with colored glass inside. Some collectable but mostly not.

5. Baseballs - a distinctive pattern of 4 lines that look like a baseball.

6. Patch and ribbon - A patch on one end and a line around the equator.

7. Corkscrew - One line spirals from end to end without crossing.