Ravenswood vs. Alley Agate it may be a tuff one.

akroorka

Ok, so I am studying this new book that I purchased, “Alley Agate Company—Marbles and Pressed Glass” 
( a very nice book with lots of info and images, well made and quality for sure I also purchased the  Book ”L.E. Alley “Father of West Virginia Swirls” & Maker of Fine Tableware” by L.E. Alley III, which is another well put together book if you are into the Alley Agate collectibles other than marbles)
This marble that I was researching went like this---it must be an Alley---it must be an Alley---it must be an Alley---it must be an Alley---it must be an Alley---until I got to page #101.
Now it may be a Ravenswood, which I thought from the start.
Oh well, I still suck at WVS ID.
Help me out with your opinion. This one is just over 9/16”.
It is a nice little Orb.
Marble—On!!

1 Final.jpg

2 Final.jpg

• Like 1

I see Ravenswood.  How I do remember a couple long years helping Larry with the books.  Just like all marble books, none are 100% correct. Things change even as the books are being printed. Publishers leave important lines out due to space. It takes great care to keep the correct marbles and identifications together correctly. I have proof read more than one before printing and then the printer changes something. As I say many times, it is a long list of why marble books are not all correct. But they are much needed and I appreciate every author who has took the challenge of doing one. Just some of the reasons why I will never do it. They make very good money from the books. Some people would be amazed at the profit.  But what is a thousand or more big headaches for a year or years, worth ?  

• Like 1
  • Award 2