Question About Marble Shows

This is probably a silly question, but I am very new to the marble world so I'm going to ask anyway. I have never been to a show, but found out there is one coming to Texas in October and I am going to do my best to make it there. Can anyone tell me what these shows are like? I read something about "different events"? I'm just looking for some insight on what to expect. I'm really excited!

Thanks

-Amber

Hello and thanks for asking. I am in Texas and have participated in a few of the Texas shows. The event is held on a Saturday, but if you come a day or two early you can join in on the 'room hopping'. That is, when you arrive at the hotel you ask which floor the marble collectors are on (they are all on the same floor for everyone's convenience), and then ride the elevator up to marble heaven where you will find individual sellers with their room doors open for trading or buying or selling marbles and marble related items. Marbles are usually laid out on the beds or tables or both. Then Saturday morning everyone brings their marbles and such down to the specified 'ballroom' which is open all day to the public. Then it is over.

Some of the 'events' you might be referring to are actually lectures on marbles. The best lecture I have ever sat in on was a Vitro Agate lecture hosted by the very charming and knowledgeable (did I forget handsome ;)) Jim Garber. His insight into this company is amazing. :music-rocker-001:

Other events might include a 'glass artisan' actually making a marble right in front of you. You just have to see it to believe it. Please come, you'll be glad you did! We'll be looking for you! :cool-smileys-262::cool-smileys-262::cool-smileys-262: