My Son’s Collection HELP!

CqmnMarble

To keep my 5 year old son entertained while I shopped antique stores I started him collecting marbles. At first, I would buy any and all that seemed reasonably priced. He is now 8 and spends his money collecting only “special” marbles. I have bought him books on the topic but we are both still complete newbies. Yesterday, he picked up this very old box of marbles at a furniture auction I was attending. These seem to be way older than anything we have come across. At least half appear to be clay. Some maybe stone. I am really not sure. So what am I looking at here? Thanks 

D2396AD0-52B1-4AED-9A79-325494EC323C.jpeg

5070084F-B556-4700-BF64-B766A136036D.jpeg

26FE1E71-A769-49D2-A012-DFA4498F0BF3.jpeg

4248FCC9-DF28-4ED5-A0BD-4B18D9745EEB.jpeg

79225A34-805B-42BE-A4B2-F93C511083AB.jpeg

5E201162-125D-4671-A0D2-9F6C31511977.jpeg

Welcome to The Marble Connection. You have a bunch of different types of Vintage marbles. The wooden box is full of common clays and maybe some stones. The second tub contains mostly brown and blue Bennigtons, but I also see a lined china in there. In the third group there are a variety of Akro Corkscrews, a few Vitros, Marble Kings, West Virginia Swirls, and others. The best marble might be that blue one on the right side with four red/yellow ribbons. That looks to be a Peltier Superboy or Superman. The next bunch is more clays, maybe some stones and a bigger lined china. The next tub is mostly Cat's eyes with a few Vitro Hybrid colored ones, and maybe a Master Marble or two. The last group is game marbles and a couple of purees (the transparent ones). I hope this helps get you started.

If you want better info, you'll need to post fewer marbles at a time so we can more easily refer to them.

There's also an old hand-made German lattice core in with the cat eye's.

That is a pretty cool group of clays.   Nice to have such a range of sizes.  They would be about 90 to 150 years old.