Newbie marble find: car boot sale UK. What have I got, please?

Iain P

Hi all,

I bought a box of items at a car boot sale yesterday (a bargain at £4 the lot)  for the vintage games and the playing cards. 

M1a.thumb.jpg.789339756755f47db76f7f8ce7372f60.jpg

Only later did I open the metal tin to find the glass marbles, and as a complete newbie, I have no idea what kind they are.

m1b.thumb.jpg.c86fc19ce2e2a1bb7b1e5f1fc8859209.jpg

The oldest set of playing cards dates from the 1890s, so it would be great if the marbles were as old as that, though the other set is c1930, as are the games.

Having spent a happy hour here on the forum, I can already feel the marble collecting bug coming on, so any information about these would be very welcome. 

I'm assuming the opaque black and red ones are quite ordinary - though I never saw marbles like this before:

m3.thumb.JPG.f36cb64dd39fffb711f6b410f41c82de.JPG

m4.thumb.JPG.048f14b4aaaa13cefc9a2cc626a06c98.JPG

but the blue looks a lot more interesting. 

m10.thumb.JPG.97b33d29a282e88fa5d86a7f06d7e617.JPG

m2.thumb.JPG.bb956692e25646d493142cee27d43732.JPG

m1.thumb.JPG.223e64a0786d8ebe0b637aa63ccdaef5.JPG

The central dark piece in the blue one is a bit of an oddity too.  They measure around 5/8". 

m11.thumb.JPG.ebf0cc9f0d4a5ef58bf345da51547d5f.JPG

m7.thumb.JPG.77044d88f4aedfa3072d369afa64bed8.JPG

Thanks, 

Iain 

• Like 1

Welcome lain,
The blue one is a “Slag” in my opinion. 
The dark spot could be were the cut-off was melted back into the marble and if that is the case, it would be an older handmade slag.
The red and black were pressed in between two molds. They could be clay, a wood concoction, or other material; I do not think that they are glass. I suspect that they were to a game of some sort. Ballot marbles are usually black and white in my experience. They are old.

More opinions are more than welcomed and needed.

Once again welcome and continue to share what you may come across.
Marble—On!!