Hand painted clay marbles by Kelley

Hi, my name is Penny Kelley.  I'm a self-taught, marble artist.  I make and hand-paint clay marbles.  Want to share some firsthand marble history and how I became a marble artist. I was born in Cincinnati, Ohio in 1949.  Raised across the river in the small town of Bromley, Kentucky.   I never played marbles as a kid.  My hands were too small and the neighborhood boys wouldn't play with a girl anyway.  Across the street from our house was a packed earth path perfect for shooting marbles before it was covered by concrete.  Power lawnmowers, sidewalks, paved school grounds and concrete eventually covered all the ideal places for games.  When I was 10 years old, I wanted to watch the boys shooting a game.  They tried to run me away but one of the older boys, a good shooter, said I could stay.  He put me in charge of holding his jar of winnings.  I swear it was a gallon jar--but, more than likely, it was a pint.  I remember sitting with my legs crossed and rolling the jar in my lap filled with colorful glass orbs.  I remember thinking, "Some day I'm going to get some of these.."  Never thought about marbles again until I was in my late 20's, I went to a county court day in Mt. Sterling, Kentucky.  My bachelor Uncle was an antique dealer.  He had a stand and was selling his wares.  A large, beautiful, old German Swirl caught my eye.  It was in perfect condition.  It was sitting atop an old Coca-Cola bottle on the front of his stand.  Couldn't believe I was actually considering paying $30 for a marble, but I was lusting after it.  My Uncle was stationed in Italy during WWII.  He was telling me some fascinating war stories as we sat on the tailgate of his old truck behind his stand.  I glanced up and the marble was gone!  Someone had stolen it right under our noses!  That began my obsession with marbles.  I started shopping and collecting that very day.  I thought I was the only person in the world collecting marbles!