Idle Question For An Expert

ann

Among other things, I already had a very nice small collection of Peltier slags before I stumbled over the Joker run on ebay - - and got hooked there too, obviously. As I was playing with -- er -- looking at both the other night (not simultaneously) it occurred to me to ask those of you on this board who know or have had marble / glass conversations with Dave McCullough: has he ever speculated about, or have any of you ever asked him (as today's master of machine-made marbles) how the heck Peltier managed to produce those crazy-fine featherings in their slags?

Feel free to direct me to the archive file if it's been discussed before -- I go there and scratch around pretty regularly anyway --

Thanks,

Ann

(not the one with the iphone game!)

• Replies 62
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Hi Ann,

I'm not a real expert, and I didn't ask Dave about it, but I suspect they just tossed a bunch of crunched up white into a tank of transparent colored glass, and that's what happened, slightly simplified.

mike b.

Mike, your answer is provocatively simple.

Does that mean you don't attribute the feathering to any particular processes described in any particular patents? Is it still on the level of unsolved mystery for you?