Differences In Flinties

sunk9s

Just was reading abit about these earlier. As far as I can tell in this one book, they were red clear ones but also made some that were on an opaque base, maybe white??. But just reading a few posts down I guess there were a slew of other colors too. Someone with more info could probably tell you exactly what size they were which may also help you id them, unless they were multiple sizes in which case? lol Sorry, I am still learning :)

Thanks Gary. I know there are other companies that have made clear marbles, and I know about Moonies and the glow they have, I have a couple Moonies, but I have a slew of clear marbles and would like to check to see if any may be Flinties.

Mary, the first thing I would point out is that Flinties aren't clear.

The earliest flinties looked practically transparent when you held them to a light, but they were still translucent.

Something which may not be known is that not all flinties had the fish eyes.

The earliest, most nearly clear flinties did not have eyes. (unless I am mistaken both in what I have read and in the name of one of my early flint-colored akros)

As they became less translucent, some got eyes.

There are even virtually opaque flinties, but you can see the orange glow through them if they do have the fish eyes.

Without the eyes, the most nearly opaque ones may be indistinguishable from other companies' game marbles but the ones which are closest to being clear still stand out.

Here are some photos of Flinties and Moonies in original packaging.

Box 1:

Flinties002_B_marblealan.jpg

Flinties002_marblealan.jpg

Box 2:

Flinties001_Morphy_2004.jpg

Box 3:

Moonie001b_60percent.jpg

Moonie001_60percent.jpg

Mary, I was kinda holding out for someone who could give a good precise explaination, because I'm just not too confident in mine....

I have a box of Akro Flinties, but they're not where I can get to them in a hurry, so I can't look...