New To Collecting

marblenoobs

Hi All,

I'm new to collecting and excited to join some online forums. I found this one along with land of marbles and another called marblin madness. I can't seem to get to registered for that one though. I looked at glass addiction, but it seemed to be a modern sort of glass collecting site.

I'm looking forward to getting to know you all. Could anyone recommend some books that you would consider a must have for a new collector?

Thanks,

Joe

Hi Joe. Welcome.

I'd recommend Everett Grist's Big Book of Marbles, by Everett Grist and Lloyd Huffer. The Fourth Edition has been freshly released.

Another good book is American Machine-Made Marbles, by Dean Six, Susie Metzler and Michael Johnson. It is heavy into historical information.

For older handmades, Baumann's Collecting Antique Marbles is a classic.

There are some classics by Bob Block but some of that information has become dated. For example, in some cases, different terminology and additional information about makers have come out since their publication. I wouldn't discourage you from getting them, and maybe someone else would put them high on the list.

This is just my $.02.

There is also a classic by Stan Block, called Marble Mania. Does that have a new edition? (muttering to myself while I go look that up) Yes, it does. I haven't seen the new one yet.

There are lots more marble books, including specialty books on cat's eyes, Jabos, ceramic marbles, etc. I don't mean to leave anyone out. I just picked the ones I thought might be good first buys. I look forward to seeing others' recommendations.

Disclaimer about values given in books. It's very tricky to get a handle on marble values, in case you're getting books to help you assess your marbles instead of just identifying the marbles. I've used books to estimate marble values for sale and received quite the lesson when my $2500 marble sold for only $80 on ebay and my $50 marble went for $5.

Edited by Steph