Making my first flint marble for Rolley Hole

Hey all, thought I’d share this. I’m by no means an expert and this project took around 14 hours since I struggled at it a little and had some difficulty getting this marble down to size.

For those who do not know, I am from Standing Stone State Park, home of the national Rolley Hole Championship. I teach this game and lately most days someone comes seeking it out. I have taught many people how to play along with the local significance of the game, but what I have not done until recently is actually make a marble. During this process I gave many people a taste of the process but due to the time, many only got bits and pieces.

This particular marble is made from (according to the bag of raw material) Tennessee quartz. This is locally referred to as “flint” but I believe it is a type of churt. Due to how Rolley Hole is played, glass marbles won’t do and are easily broken due to their hardness. This material better survives the impact and generally rough gameplay by being a little softer and less brittle. 

We start with locally found materials that is then cut into blocks. From there we grind the edges and then grind the new edges until getting a cylinder roughly, then grind the tops to a taper. From there the rough orb is put into cups made of old grinding wheels and sharpening stones and spun with a rubber wheel. This can be dangerous a personally I ended up dotting my marble with blood from hitting my fingers on the wheel. 

Theres YouTube videos that better describe  the process, but it truly is a labor of love. Most of the marbles makers where or are Rolley Hole players which adds the personal touch. 

many of my files are failing to upload, but hopefully this gives an idea. The best way to see this process is by attending the 40th Rolley Hole September 16th. 

I hope y’all enjoy!

FC2EC8DF-EA38-432C-8C38-B80B5EEDE09E.jpeg

9008C99E-106D-4883-AF48-189428882925.jpeg

945A20E7-C3EC-4AE2-A805-801520B4C49C.jpeg