Akro Cork screw question

treetiger

Howdy folks,

I have a question about Akro cork screws. Is Akro the only company known to make those classic cork screws- like snakes, Pop eyes etc., or did other companies also contribute their own variety of C.S.'s? When I see a C.S. in a bin, or collection in someone's attic, am I safe to call it an Akro, or are there other contenders to that title? Just a beginner here, please be patient. 

Thanks and best wishes

corkscrew red popeye.webp

more stndard akro agate crk screws.webp

Hello.  Welcome.   Yes, only Akro made corkscrews.   

It is possible that other marbles could be confused with Akro corks.   For example, a Japanese transitional might resemble a corkscrew.  

However, when we say something is a corkscrew,  we are saying it is Akro.

x2

Courtesy of the (MCSA) Marble Collectors Society of America

The most common and easily recognizable Akro Agate marble is the Corkscrew. This is a variegated-stream marble whose design is unique to Akro Agate. Two or more streams of colored glass were allowed to enter through the marble-making machine’s shearing mechanism at the same time. Because the different colors were layered as they came out of the furnace and because the colors were of different densities, they created separate strata in the glass stream as it entered the shearing mechanism. Just before the shearing mechanism in the Akro machinery there was a small cup with a hole in the bottom. The glass stream entered the cup from the top and passed through the hole in the bottom into the shearing mechanism. If the cup was spinning, then a corkscrew was created. If the cup was not spinning, then a patch was created. The number of different colored spirals in the corkscrew, or the number of different color patches was determined by the number of nozzles that had glass flowing through them when the glass stream was created.