I Have To See This!

SNYD

Hi all.

First, let me give a little more information about myself then I'll get into the question. I am a plastics professional. I have been in plastics for 26 years. My presnt titles are Innovations Manager and Assistant Quality Manager. With these careers I do a lot of research. I subscribe to a plastics news letter and this month's headline is "100 years later, Baklite Shines". Here is the interesting part. It talks about Leo Hendrick Baekland, the inventor of Bakelite and all the things that were made of this man made plastic, which is a plastic that once heated and formed it could not be reheated and used. The most exciting thing I saw was a picture of toys made with bakelite, cars, wheels for pull toys and you got it "MARBLES". The company,General Bakelite Co. Perth Amboy, NJ and in Boonton, NJ. that made bobbin ends and marbles.

Does anyone have a Bakelite mib? Has anyone seen one? I have a new quest to reserch the Bakelite mibs. Any help would be appriciated.

Just for fun..............go to www.whirley.com, this is where I work and what we make................fun WOW.............

Bakelite Balls(marbles) would have been too light to use for shooting marbles. I do have a ring set with interchangeable bakelite(I think) balls. I have seen many drilled beads on Bakelite jewelry. I wonder if they were not also used as game pieces. Peace,Galen

trifari.JPG

I think we have one... i will try to find....

galen, are those catalin? i have never seen the ring set in a trifari box...too cool. could you take a picture of the ring from the side? is it a lot different from the ones sold thru avon?

Bakelite Balls(marbles) would have been too light to use for shooting marbles. I do have a ring set with interchangeable bakelite(I think) balls. I have seen many drilled beads on Bakelite jewelry. I wonder if they were not also used as game pieces. Peace,Galen

trifari.JPG