Roger Hardy Akro Collection

Akro Nirvana,

Thanks so much for the images. This is my Disneyland trip of the future.

No Haters here my friend, Akro slags are in the quad-millions and they sure can look like all the others ever made--if in doubt--call it an Akro, no arguments from me.

Welcome here for sure,

Slag--On!! and Marble--On for sure!!

Indeed, Welcome and thanks for sharing all those great pictures. Myself, pretty much new to marble collecting and the marble world, having basically started earlier this year. Also love collecting the Akroware and whatever slag glass pieces I come across that grab my attention, be it Akro, Fenton, Westmoreland, etc. Looking forward to your mib pics 😊

• Like 1

I've been collecting glass for nigh on 20 years when I started when I was 13 or thereabouts. I have a massive antique bottle collection but got into marbles a couple of years ago after I completely ran out of room for bottles. I think marbles are more fascinating than bottles. I am and have been obsessed with birding too since I was young, and marbles are much like birding with identification and pattern recognition. I've amassed a pretty sizeable marble collection of every known marble maker in the Americas; along with quite a few Euro marble makers; it helps being only an 1.5 hours away from where most of the WV marble making companies were. I dig for marbles almost every weekend down in WV and around where I live at town dumps and its awesome when a marble pops out of the dirt and I know that I'm the first person that has held that marble since someone touched it in 1930 or whatever. 

My akro collection however only takes up one shelf and pales completely in comparison to Rogers. I mean he probably has millions of dollars of akro and got to dig at the factory site before you would get arrested for doing so. I probably only have about 5k of akro marbles but its a start and luckily I didnt pay much for them as Ive found most in jars or in the ground. 

• Like 1