What About This Auction?

I was intrigued by what looked as if it might be an authentic sort of wear. However, reliable sources say fake. Made by that same guy in Lauscha whom JVV mentioned in the recent fake china thread.

Hi Steph, I don't think it's made by a guy in Lauscha, but in the surrounding area. I think what J means, is that he got info over these marbles from a guy in Lauscha.

Cees.

"I am no expert on this type of subject so there will be no returns." - Sellers statement. Other than the marble itself this should be sufficient warning. Why trust to anything where there isn't a Return Privilege with reasonable understanding. Amazing the discretionary money that is floating around! David

Interesting looks more legit than the last one, but? I find it odd that he would measure in inches (and metrics) first time I have ever seen that from the UK (they don't measure in inches there) pretty strange. IMHO

He's aiming at the US marble market. Note he also quotes shipping in dollars on the big "paperweight " marble in the text of the other listing.

"I am no expert on this type of subject so there will be no returns." - Sellers statement. Other than the marble itself this should be sufficient warning. Why trust to anything where there isn't a Return Privilege with reasonable understanding. Amazing the discretionary money that is floating around! David

Indeed, $5K here, $5K there and after awhile you're talking about big money....;-)

For a combination of reasons (not all mentioned here) I agree the marble is fake and the glass one not right either, but no need to be put off by UK sellers who use inches or mm or both, it is normal here, I flit between metric and old all the time as does everyone I know.

100% FAKAROONY!!!!!

I really don't like to put up comparisons like this, for fear they end up as a "How to improve your china marble painting guide..."

But, once in a while, we've gotta do it for the right educational reasons... LOL