Peltish Little Dudes

bubba1

I'd also suggest Japanese as a possibility. For some reason that hasn't been a popular idea. There's "made in Japan" packaging, but it has been argued that it was the box which was made in Japan, not the marbles. To me that doesn't seem consistent with the purpose of country of origin packaging laws. But I'm an amateur, so ?

The mibs below aren't an exact match for yours but maybe similar enough to give pause.

First a novelty box marked Made in Japan. The marbles here were listed as 11/16".

PuzzleBox002.jpg

(extra pix, click to enlarge)

th_PuzzleBox001.jpg th_PuzzleBox003.jpg

Second is a box of "Bolitas" which says "Industria Japonesa", which to me indicates Japanese manufacture, possibly intended for sale in South America. From a Marblealan auction. He said they measured about 1/2".

(sorry, no clicking, wish the pix were larger but this is what we got! :-)

post-279-1214332800.jpgpost-279-1214332794.jpg

post-279-1214332789.jpg

interesting!! i got a couple with this bunch that look just like several in that first set--the ones with the equatorial red band--and a couple of those looks pretty dang close.

was there a date (or range) that went along with these boxes?

I agree - after I posted I almost said Japanese possibility because I had seen similar boxes. makes you wonder why we did not see a lot in US of these marbles? At;least haven't seen in the many lots of old machine mades I have bought. Just a couple in quantity that came from Canada.

Don

Alan estimated the 1930's for the 100 count box.

I tried to research the Reg'lar Fellers date options and came up with a very tentative 1939 - 1941 based on an article in the June 1938 Playthings Magazine. The 1938 article said the comic strip author Gene Byrnes was launching a series of tie-ins and spin-offs of his comic strip, the details of which would be announced soon.

And then of course 1942 would not have been a good year for marbles from Japan.