Miller Machine

Berryb

Ok I know that Miller Machine is a term no longer used ( I saw someone get actually angry at someone for using it on another forum). But there was a specific type of Pelt made during that period. Has there ever been another term applied to these marbles?

Here are some pics of some of mine. 2 questions; are these what were once Miller Machines? and what do I call them?

I can't answer why Miller Machine is no longer used, but I have some of these and believe they are called multicolor swirls (MCS). If they have ribbons instead they are multicolor ribbons (MCR).

To me, all 5 do appear to be Peltier MCS.

Others will kindly correct me if I'm mistaken.

I generally say "Multicolor Rainbo" for all of them, and note that they're National Line era marbles.  But obviously the swirly ones have a special appeal so I understand why people want to earn the label "Swirl". 

I have no knowledge of the swirly ones being an earlier period than the more orderly ones.  I have imagined that it just depended on the machine's mood on any given day and they could all be mixed together in the timeline.  But I literally do not know. 

The way I understand it; a few years ago it was discovered that The Miller Machine was for sizing only, and not to put glass together or form swirls or ribbons. This is when marbles of a certain type were no longer referred to as Miller Machines. I have scanned a page from Block's 5th edition, so  as recently as 2012 at least Miller Machine was still a valid term. If it was only for sizing it seems to have a pretty limited scope. You can see from the bottom of the page these mibs were mostly 9 to 11 16ths. The page gives a description of what was once Miller Machines and now seem to be old pelt swirls. I guess the reason I'm so concerned is I think they are really nice marbles.

miller machine page.jpg