Born On Date:june 26-09

duffy

• Replies 85
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Wow! Those are all fantastic! I had to look up burmese because I didn't know what it was. Of course, I just love oxblood. These experiments are truly coming up with some beauties. Keep'em coming guys!

Have a great day!

:-) Felicia

Thanks! we used our cullet from the studio I've been saving for about 4 years, it was basicaly clear based with just about every color etc. we have used in the last 4 years, melted together it made a light green transparent base with aventurine, mica and lutz floating at random, we used a few other ingredients to change the base as we went through the run, I have always loved the lemonade oxbloods so I waited till the colors were flowing right then I added the oxblood and burmese (with a secret ingredient). my guess is about 1000 of the lemon/ox's, then I went to blueberry lemonades and on and on. sizes for the run are mostly in the 9/19" range, many many 1/2 or less peewee's too, I like the smaller ones as they seem to be a cleaner marble with less problems.

As a run is going you can change the base color or blend something into the base, it's an interesting process, one that I have been dreaming about for about 10 years, the idea of running art glass cullet through the machine was my plan way back when I rebuilt the 1934 Vitro machine a decade ago, funny how things worked out, I got the last custom run (as far as Dave tells me) LOL, Jabo is closed as of yesterday, will they re-open? I don't know, the sale could go through in the next few weeks? it's all up in the air now, Bocci says "closed for the summer" so we'll see, all I know is, I got the last run in before the doors closed for any particular reason.

As for a name for the run..... thats just too hard to decide at this point, I do like Duffy's "born on" and I've allways wanted to call them "Killer Kullet".